VIVO IPL 2018 Purple Cap Holder: Highest wicket takers

By | January 23, 2017

VIVO IPL 2018 Purple Cap Holder: Highest wicket takers- In the T20 form of cricket, the bowlers seem to be at very precarious position. In fact, this format of cricket happens to be the batsmen’s paradise. The bowlers in the T20 format of cricket may not always have the best of times, but it certainly does not means that they become completely out of scene, reducing to insignificant, if pitted against the bastmen. In the last seasons of the IPL we have seen enough evidences of the dominance of the bowler. No doubt, this format of cricket gives the batsmen opportunity to pile on the runs, but it is also equally true that good number of bowler, in the 8 seasons that have already been played, have been able to pick up wickets in heaps and played a pivotal role for the success of their respective teams.

 IPL Purple cap holder

Purple cap holder in the IPL

There are the provisions of cap as award for the top performance in the Indian premier League. Awards are given to the highest run scorers as well as the most wicket takers in a particular season. There are two types of caps that are awarded to the players of the t20 game. One is Orange Cap Award and second is Purple Cap Award. The Orange Cap Award is provided to the highest run-scorer in the Indian Premier League, whereas the Purple Cap Award is provided to the bowlers who bag the most wickets in a season. All bowlers who want to make their presence felt in a batsmen-dominated T20 game, want to be purple cap holder in the IPL. It is partly because they want to prove themselves as established bowlers and partly because they want to enlighten the cricket fans across the globe that in T20 cricket there are lots that the bowlers can achieve.

 IPL Purple cap holder

Top Purple Card Holders in IPL

Whenever the names of the top purple card holders in IPL come in, the Indian bowlers seem to rule the roost. It is simply because there are some Indian bowlers who are among the top purple card holders in IPL. In addition to RP Singht, the two other Indians who have won the purple card are the left-arm spinner Pragyan Ojha and the medium-pacer Mohit Sharma. In the year 2010, Ojha while playing for the Deccan Charges took 21 wickets while Mohit Mohit took 23 wickets in the 2014 IPL while playing for the Chennai Super Kings. Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Shane Watson occupy the first and second position respectively with 21 and 20 wickets respectively.

Top Purple Card Holders in IPL 2018

The IPL 2017 is not very far off. All the fans of the Indian Premier League have started counting their days for the IPL 2017. If you are among those who want to know about the top purple card holders in IPL 2017, all that you need to do is to stay hooked to our website. Just like 2016 IPL, we will be updating you with all the Purple Card Holders for the ongoing season as well.